A Perfect Ten:A Forbidden Men Novel by Linda Kage – Review & Giveaway(INT)

This review is part of the Virtual Book Tour of A Perfect Ten(Forbidden Men #5) organised by Tasty Book Tours.Since I strive to write only honest reviews on my blog,I have been cautious of being part of blog tours;I didn’t want to commit myself to promoting a book I had no idea about.But thankfully Linda Kage is an author whose books I’ve not only read before but have also enjoyed reading.So,as a first time blog tour host,I proudly  present to you Linda’s newest book which was released on the 3oth instant.Keep reading to know more about it and be sure to take part in the generous giveaway linked below.

Blog Tour Review-Musings of a BibliophileA Perfect Ten:A Forbidden Men Novel by Linda Kage

Series: Forbidden Men Series (Book #5)

Self Published on March 30th,2015

Genre: Contemporary Romance,New Adult


Review

Rating: 3.7/5

So,the much awaited fifth installment in the Forbidden Men series featuring Ten,the loud mouthed and funniest of the forbidden men is here at last.You might wonder how one could anticipate an obnoxiously inappropriate and loud mouthed guy’s story,but Oren Tenning,otherwise known as Ten,is so much more than that.He is the most loyal friend who will even sacrifice himself to the wanton wiles of seductresses to save his already committed friends from their clutches.Those of you who’ve followed this series will know who is finally going to knock him on his ass and force him to grow up.She is none other than his best friend Noel(Book 2:To Professor,with Love‘s hero)’s sister,Caroline Gamble.

Both Ten and Caroline have been attracted to one another since they first met during one of the most harrowing periods in Caroline’s life.And when Caroline and her other siblings come to live with Noel and Aspen(Noel’s then girlfriend now wife),their infatuation blossoms into more tender feelings for one another.But as much as they like each other,they haven’t acted upon it because Ten is determined to honour Noel’s wishes,as Caroline’s big brother and guardian,to keep his distance from her.So as was seen in the fourth book,With Every Heartbeat,despite Caroline’s attempts to kiss him twice and express her feelings,he keeps finding ways to keep her at arm’s length.But little does Ten know how determined and daring Caroline is,because she soon finds a way to get to him and this time he cannot but surrender.

This part of their courtship is very steamy and all the more wild and  exciting,because of course they are doing it under the radar to avoid big brother‘s displeasure.It is both heartening to see their relationship develop further but also sad at the time because they’re  making it an illicit affair by hiding it from Noel,when all Noel had ever wanted was an upstanding guy for Caroline who would proudly accept her in public and not make her a dirty secret as her first boyfriend had done.So to say the least,things do not remain hidden for long and you can imagine the big showdown it leads to.

It is quite satisfying to see the old gang again and witnessing the new developments in their lives.Especially,it is extremely gratifying to see Noel and Aspen working hard to provide a home for his siblings and loving each other along the way after the many hardships they’d had to face in the course of their relationship.The only thing that irked me was the way Caroline bitched about Noel.Since he was her unofficial guardian which put him in a more responsible position than a mere elder sibling,not to mention how protective he’s after the condition he had found her in before he took her in,I believe she should have been more understanding and sensitive towards his feelings,especially when he had to work himself ragged to make ends meet for them.So,though I loved how finally everything was sorted out after the bit of  scare that Ten gave everyone near the end,I found Caroline to be selfish and insensitive in dealing with her brother.

Apart from that we see a glimpse of Asher’s would be heroine in the next Forbidden Men installment.I believe she is as musically inclined as Asher and I cannot wait to find out more about them.

I’ve always enjoyed reading Linda’s books,especially this series and the Granton University series.It felt like hanging out with old friends in the Forbidden bar reading A Perfect Ten.It was interesting to learn about Ten’s family and the reason why he avoided having one night stands with anyone’s sister.Also,it was fun watching Noel and Caroline’s younger siblings,Colton and Brandt milk money from Ten to keep their secret from Noel.I believe those two will star in the future Forbidden Men series someday.

Though a little longer than the previous books in the series,A Perfect Ten delivered as I’d hoped and is the second best Forbidden Men installment in my opinion,because nothing can compare to Noel and Aspen’s story in book two,To Professor,with Love.

Now it is always best to read a series in order,but don’t worry if you haven’t read the previous installments yet,because this one can also be read as a standalone.

P.S. I read the second book before the first one.

Synopsis:

Let your hair down, Caroline, they said. It’ll be fun, they said.

I know I’ve closed myself off in a major way in the past year, ever since “the incident” where I messed up my life completely. It’s past time I try to live again or just give up completely. But this is quite possibly the craziest thing I’ve ever done. In a last ditch effort to invigorate myself, I’m standing outside Oren Tenning’s bedroom, I just peeled off the sexiest pair of underwear I own, and my hand is already raised to knock. My brother would disown me for doing anything with his best friend, and he’d probably kill Oren. But if I play my cards right, no one will ever know about this. Not even Ten.

Maybe after tonight, I’ll finally get over this stupid, irrational crush I hate having on the biggest jerk I’ve ever met. Or maybe I’ll just end up falling for him even harder. Maybe I’ll discover there’s so much more to my crude, carefree hunk than meets the eye.

Buy Links: Amazon | B&N | iTunes | Kobo | Goodreads

THE OTHER BOOKS IN THE SERIES(in ascending order from left to right):

Geetanjali-Musings of a Bibliophile

About the Author:A Perfect Ten review

Linda grew up on a dairy farm in the Midwest as the youngest of eight children. Now she lives in Kansas with her husband, daughter, and nine cuckoo clocks. Her life’s been blessed with lots of people to learn from and love. Writing’s always been a major part of her world, and she is so happy to finally share some of her stories with other romance lovers.

Author Links: Website| Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads

Now to the most anticipated part of the post. 🙂 THE RAFFLECOPTER GIVEAWAY.Here’s your chance to win a $25 Amazon Gift Card,A PERFECT TEN paperback or 5 digital copies of A PERFECT TEN.
Giveaway runs from March 30th,2015 to April 10th,2015.

Please, click on this link to take part in the giveaway: A PERFECT TEN VIRTUAL TOUR GIVEAWAY

The ARC and the Giveaway are courtesy of the author made available by Tasty Book Tours.Disclaimer: All opinions here are drawn from my own conclusions no part of which bears any external influence.

To follow the tour please click on the picture below:

A Perfect Ten Blog Tour-Musings of a Bibliophile

7 thoughts on “A Perfect Ten:A Forbidden Men Novel by Linda Kage – Review & Giveaway(INT)

Leave a Reply

