The Eclectic Reader Challenge 2015

elc

If there is ever a type of a reader I want to be identified as, it would be as an eclectic reader.I have always liked to explore books from different genres,to read books off the beaten track and find out which are to my liking.And what better way to discover new books and  stretch my horizon than to participate in an eclectic reading challenge?

So,for the next year I have committed myself to take part in The Eclectic Reader Challenge 2015 hosted by Shellyrae at Book’d Out .

eclecticreader15

The challenge will run from January 1st to December 31st 2015. During that time period I will read and review at least 12 books from the following categories.

Categories

  1. Retellings (of fairytale, legends or myth)
  2.  A book set in a country starting with the letter S (eg. Sweden, Singapore, South Africa, Spain, Slovakia)
  3.  PI Crime (fiction featuring a private investigator)
  4.  A novel published before you were born
  5. Contemporary romance
  6. Fiction for foodies (fiction featuring food/food related business)
  7. Microhistory (Non Fiction)
  8. Science Fiction set in space
  9. Sports (Fiction or Non fiction)
  10. Featuring diversity
  11. Epistolary Fiction (fiction written in the format of letters/emails/diary entries)
  12. Middle Grade/YA Adventure : If I Fall,If I Die by Michael Christie

I haven’t selected my reading list yet and would add a book to the list as I read.You can help me by suggesting some of your favourite reads from the genres listed above or simply drop by to boost my morale.Or better yet you could go and sign up for the challenge yourself and give me company. 🙂 It would be more fun.Hoping to be better read by the end of 2015 and entertain you with my musings of my eclectic reading adventure.Stay tuned!

 

2 thoughts on “The Eclectic Reader Challenge 2015

  1. Good luck and look forward to hearing what you end up reading. I agree with you that it’s good to aspire to be an eclectic reader! Two of my favorite books from 2014 would have fit well with two of the categories – Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafon is set in Spain and is a wonderful mix of historical fiction, mystery and romance. Remains of the Day by Kazuo Ishiguro would fit well in the Epistolary Fiction category – it is presented as the journal of a British butler in the 1950’s as he reflects on his life in service now that it is almost done. Have fun!

    Like

    • Thank you for your encouragement and book suggestions,Stephanie. The country starting with S category was the one I was having difficulty with.I have marked it in my TBR list. Also the suggestion to read Ishiguro comes at a good time;I was planning to read his earlier works before Buried Giant comes out this March.I have only read Never Let Me Go by him.
      Good luck to you too.

      Like

Leave a Reply

