The Duet(A Heart Novel) by R.S. Grey

duet Title: The Duet

Series: Heart

Author: R.S. Grey

Publication date: November 7th,2014

Genre: NA/Contemporary Romance

Synopsis: When 27-year-old pop sensation Brooklyn Heart steps in front of a microphone, her love songs enchant audiences worldwide. But when it comes to her own love life, the only spell she’s under is a dry one.

So when her label slots her for a Grammy performance with the sexy and soulful Jason Monroe, she can’t help but entertain certain fantasies… those in which her G-string gets more play than her guitars’.

Only one problem. Jason is a lyrical lone wolf that isn’t happy about sharing the stage—nor his ranch — with the sassy singer. But while it may seem like a song entitled ‘Jason Monroe Is an Arrogant Ho’ basically writes itself, their label and their millions of fans are expecting recording gold…

They’re expecting The Duet.


REVIEW

Rating: 2/5

Simply put,here’s my verdict:I hated this book but I appreciate the author’s prowess in crafting a story which had me engaged till the last page despite my bad opinion.So,I guess it was an ok read and worth two points out of five.

“Wow. You are probably the assholiest person I’ve ever met.” – Brooklyn to Jason

My main problem was with the male protagonist.I loathed him,there is no better way to describe him than that he’s a first class ASSHOLE(pardon my language). He treated the heroine callously and played her strings as he well pleased.To start with,he was condescending towards her because he thought her music was not worthy of his respect(she was a pop princess and he was a solo folk-rock kind of artist). When their recording label which represented them both wanted them to perform a duet on the Grammy awards stage,he had to reluctantly let her stay at his Montana ranch so that they could collaborate.He kept giving her the cold shoulder,occasionally making jibes at her.But one day suddenly he decides they should have a no strings attached sexual relationship to inspire them in songwriting. Before long feelings come into play but there’s a terrible secret he is hiding from her.When she finally discovers his deception,she does what any self respecting woman would do.She leaves his place immediately after completing their song.But the self absorbed prick that he is,he puts the blame on her for leaving him and not seeing their relationship through.Let me tell you,it was absolutely cowardly of him to pull that victim card.He had wronged her when he decided to proceed with their relationship while he was holding back such an important part of his life from her.His song for her at the awards ceremony was a nice gesture,but by then I did not care for him any longer.He was a tough pill to swallow.Honestly,I am getting angry with these romance writers  who keep creating characters whom we are supposed to love and overlook their bad attitude and actions just because they are eye candies.What ever happened to personality?Can one seriously fall in love with a man who has Jason’s personality but has an unattractive body?I think not.

Brooklyn,the female protagonist was likeable.She was a chirpy,happy go lucky pop artist who had an amazing relationship with her younger sister Cammie.Honestly,their sisterly bond was the only thing apart from her crazy inner monologues which kept me interested in this story.Brooklyn as the narrator is fun to listen to but she always showed her public face to the readers.She was always personable making us chuckle with her outrageous observations but never went too deep.She kept everything on the surface and light-hearted.So,after a time her narration sounded a little superficial.

In short The Duet is the story of two musicians with different personalities who come together to write and perform a duet and fall in love with each other.I wasn’t impressed by this light read but I’m willing to read Cammie’s story next.I hope her hero,Brooklyn’s childhood friend,Grayson,is more likeable though.The story did end on an interesting prelude to Cammie and Grayson’s story.

Brookyn’s toast:”Well,here’s to Cammie,who will have an amazing interview next week,and who will indoubtedly land the job of her dreams.”                                                   

Cammie’s toast:”And who will put Grayson Cole in his place if it is the last thing she does.”

4 thoughts on “The Duet(A Heart Novel) by R.S. Grey

    • Haha,he seriously is.But don’t let me dissuade you from reading it because there seems to be more good reviews than bad for this one on Goodreads. Apparently more ladies are charmed by assholes these days.
      Thank you for being so kind.It’d be helpful to know how to manage a book blog.For starters how to host a blog tour;I would like to do that at some point.Also,any suggestions in general,what do you think of it so far?What improvements would you recommend?

      Like

      • Hmmm, to be apart of a blog tour, you need to subscribe at Xpresso Book Tours or YA Bound Book Tours, there are many out there. But, to host one by yourself? Like actually contact the author to host that kind of event? I never did that, so I couldn’t be of help. Also not interested, coz it’s really time consuming and I don’t have some right now. A blog to manage is not hard, but if you want followers and commentators, then I suggest you comment on other blogs as well. And reach out! Don’t be shy! We book bloggers love meeting others of our species 😉 I love your title! But the grey colour is not of my taste 😛 I just don’t really like grey in real life either.

        Like

  1. Okay.I just wanted to know what goes into hosting a blog tour because a publishing house had emailed me one.I understand the time consuming part,me too am juggling it with my enormous pile of schoolwork but it has been fun so far to have a place to put up my reviews and not just on Goodreads.
    I’ll definitely have to be more active in reaching out to other book bloggers like you. 🙂 I have been a quiet reader for most of my life but I’m looking forward to having bookish friends to share our mutual love of reading.
    I can see you not liking ‘grey’,your pinky blog answers for itself. 😉 I love pink too.I chose grey for visibility and a touch of sophistication.I am a minimalist and prefer clean cut simple designs. However,your feedback is much appreciated.
    Thank you for taking the time and reaching out,Lola. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

