Scenes from the City(Knitting in the City #4.5) by Penny Reid

pennyTitle: Scenes from the City

Series: Knitting in the City

Author: Penny Reid

Available: Between November 24th and December 15th,2014

Genre: Adult/Contemporary Romance/Anthology

Synopsis: aka… the Festivus Surprise
100% of proceeds go to Toys for Tots.
This book cannot be read as a standalone. It is a collection of short scenes following the ladies from the ‘Knitting in the City’ series and will only be available in eBook format from December 1 – December 15, 2014.
‘Neanderthal Seeks Honeymoon’ – Janie and Quinn
‘Friends Definitely With Benefits’ – Elizabeth and Nico
‘Hacking the Hacker’ – Sandra and Alex
‘Beauty and the Beard’ – Ashley and Drew
‘Ninja at First Sight’ – Fiona and Greg


REVIEW

Rating: 4.5/5

Attention readers,this Knitting in the Series festivus surprise is available only for a limited amount of time.Note:To be read in conjunction with the other books in the series.

Penny Reid has come up with some lively stories about the crazy gang from the Knitting in the City series to entertain us this festival season in this lovely wintertime surprise.

I did not quite know what to expect from Scenes from the City;I was also a little apprehensive because I haven’t had much good experience reading extended stories of well loved books recently.But Penny managed to abate my fears with these wonderful anecdotes of the lovely,wonderful,weird and quirky pairs of the Knitting series living their happily ever afters.The book is divided into five scenes where each scene features a pair from the previous installments of the series.The last scene however serves as a prequel to the yet to be released fifth book in the series,Happily Ever Ninja .

Scene 1: Neanderthal Seeks Honeymoon
Paradise wasn’t an island in the Caribbean, it wasn’t a place. It was being with the person you love, and working through the illustrated guide to the Kamasutra, even if you repeat positions from time to time.

Our favourite ‘neanderthal’ Janie is honeymooning in the Caribbean with her ‘human’,now also husband,Quinn while also managing to shock him with her antics along the way.

Scene 2: Friends most-definitely-with benefits
Elizabeth: “Hard to imagine Frank Sinatra as helpless as a kitten up a tree.”
Nico: “I think any man in love is as helpless as a kitten up a tree.”

Suave Nico keeps charming stubborn Elizabeth with his Italian and by singing Frank Sinatra after their Vegas wedding.

Scene 3: Hacking the Hacker
‘… because—really—who else in the world was this weird? Who else was ever going to get me and think I was awesome instead of disturbed? Alex. Only Alex.’ -Sandra

Weird Alex gets crazy Sandra to taser someone on her birthday.

Scene 4: Beauty and the Beard
Dear Ash,
….
Thoughts of what I will take from you keep me from sleep and I touch myself where
I long to touch you, how I need you to touch me. I will take the sweetness from you,
Sugar.
You are mine to take.
-Drew

Bearded Drew romances his Beauty,Ashley, when she goes back to Chicago to pack up for her move back home,the old fashioned way,by writing letters.

But the couple who steals the show are Fiona and Greg in Scene 5:Ninja at First Sight.
Greg:”I’m a selfish bastard.You should know that about me.”
Fiona:”What makes you think so?”
Greg:”Because I look at you and I think,you and me,we’re going to get married one day.And if you are a very good wife,we’ll have a mortgage.And several children,and perhaps a dog.”

We meet an eighteen year old Fiona starting college,who is shy but inquisitive and observant about everything around her after leading a sheltered life.There she meets Greg,an ex-marine who has a dry sense of humour and is quite a cynic.I had been waiting for Fiona’s story since her introduction in Neanderthal Seeks Human:A Smart Romance because she was the only one already married in the knitting group.Ninja at First Sight tells the story which leads to their happily ever after.I cannot wait to read about their life together in Happily Ever Ninja. They might just be my most favourite couple in the series.

On a side note,it’d be remiss of me if I don’t mention Dan the security man with his stripper eyes.I think he is ready to give competition to the other Knitting in the City men in his book.

ARC kindly provided by the author in exchange for an honest review.

N.B. Reviews on the earlier books in the series coming soon.

Leave a Reply

